Assistance with reading the content of this website is available 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday by calling 352-629-2489.

Elected Officials

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Mayor and Ocala City Council

City of Ocala Seal

The City of Ocala is governed by the council-manager form of government. Voters elect a five-member city council and a mayor. The mayor serves a two-year term and council members serve four-year terms.


City Council Meeting Information

Council meetings are on the first and third Tuesdays of every month at 5 p.m. Please check the Public Notices for special called meetings.

Mayor Kent Guinn

Contact Mayor Kent Guinn

Assuming the office of Mayor in December 2011, Kent Guinn, by trade, is in the insurance business and is a partner in the firm of Guinn, Shields & Co.

Council President Justin Grabelle

Contact Councilman Justin Grabelle

Justin Grabelle joined the City Council in December 2017 representing District 5, which encompasses the City’s far eastern region.

President Pro-Tem Brent Malever

Contact Councilman Brent Malever

Brent Malever joined the City Council in December 2013 representing District 1 (at-large), which encompasses the entire City of Ocala.

Councilman Ire Bethea, Sr. 

Contact Councilman Ire Bethea, Sr.  

Ire Bethea, Sr. represents District 2 and assumed office in June 2020. District 2 encompasses the city's far western section of the City.

Councilman Jay Musleh

Contact Councilman Jay Musleh

Jay Musleh assumed office in May 2012 to fill an unexpired term, represents District 3.

Councilman Matthew Wardell

Contact Councilman Matthew Wardell

Matthew Wardell represents District 4 and assumed office in December 2015. District 4 is comprised of the central eastern section of the City.